Who Scored First Century in IPL

Brendon McCullum

The journey of centuries in the Indian Premier League (IPL) began with a spectacular display of cricketing brilliance by Brendon McCullum. On April 18, 2008, the dynamic batsman from New Zealand unleashed an unforgettable inning for Kolkata Knight Riders, crafting a majestic 158* off just 73 balls. This historic knock not only marked the first century in IPL history but also set a high standard for the matches to come.

First Century Record Holders in IPL

While the IPL has witnessed numerous centurions, a few have etched their names in the annals of IPL history with multiple centuries. One standout performer is Chris Gayle, renowned for his formidable batting prowess. With his uncanny ability to score centuries, Gayle holds the record for the most hundreds in a single IPL season, showcasing his dominance in the format.

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is known for its fast-paced Twenty20 cricket matches. Scoring a century (100 runs) is tough due to limited overs and the need for quick scoring. While hitting 50 runs is common, reaching 100 is much more challenging because of stronger bowling and high pressure towards the game’s end. Despite these challenges, some players have impressively managed to score centuries in the IPL from 2008 to 2023.

The first century in IPL 2023

With each season, new records are made and old ones are broken. The first century in IPL 2023 was no different, as it brought forth fresh talent and saw seasoned players upping their game. Harry Brook, representing Sunrisers Hyderabad, stood out by scoring the first century of the season, a feat that highlighted the ever-evolving nature of the game and the relentless pursuit of excellence by the players.

The First Indian Batsman to Score Century in IPL

While international players have had their share of glory in the IPL, Indian batsmen have not been far behind in terms of making their mark. The distinction of being the first Indian batsman to score century in IPL belongs to Manish Pandey. Playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2009, Pandey’s century was not just a personal achievement but also a moment of pride for Indian cricket, showcasing the domestic talent present in the country.

Who made the 1st 100 in IPL?

The first 100 in the IPL was made by Brendon McCullum. Playing for Kolkata Knight Riders in the inaugural match of the IPL in 2008, McCullum scored a spectacular 158* off just 73 balls against Royal Challengers Bangalore, setting a high standard for batting performances in the league. Brendon McCullum is the first player who create the history. Brendon McCullum Highest ScoreĀ in IPL. Test | ODI

Who scored the most 100s in IPL in one season?

Chris Gayle holds the record for scoring the most centuries in a single IPL season. Known for his explosive batting, Gayle hit 2 centuries in the 2011 season and repeated the same feat in the 2015 season, showcasing his dominance as a T20 batsman.

Which team won the first 100 matches in the IPL?

Mumbai Indians was the first team to win 100 matches in IPL. Under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, Mumbai Indians achieved this milestone, demonstrating their consistent performance and strategic prowess over several seasons.

Who is considered to have the best century in IPL history?

While many memorable centuries have been scored in the IPL, Chris Gayle’s 175* Off 66 balls for Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013 is often hailed as the best century in IPL history due to the sheer dominance and record-breaking nature of the innings.

First Indian batsman to score a century in IPL?

Manish Pandey was the first Indian batsman to score a century in IPL. He reached this milestone while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore against the Deccan Chargers in the 2009 season, scoring 114*.

First century in IPL history?

The first century in IPL history was scored by Brendon McCullum. His iconic innings of 158* for Kolkata Knight Riders in the inaugural match of the IPL in 2008 set the tone for high-octane performances in the league.

IPL 2008 Centuries

The very first season of IPL.

Brendon McCullumKKR vs RCB158* (73)Bangalore
Michael HusseyPBKS vs CSK   116* (54) Mohali
Andrew Symonds DC vs RR117* (53)Hyderabad

best century in IPL 2009

The 2009 IPL season, held in South Africa, added an international flavor to the tournament, showcasing the league’s adaptability and global appeal

AB de VilliersCSK vs DC105* (54)Durban
Manish PandyaRCB vs CSK114* (73)Centurion

IPL season 2010

Yusuf PathanRR vs MI100 (37)Mumbai 
David WarnerDC vs KKR107* (69) Delhi
Murali Vijay CSK vs RR127 (56)Chennai

IPL season 2011

Paul ValthatyPBKS vs CSK120* (63)Dharamshala
Sachin Tendulkar MI vs KTK 100* (66) Mumbai
Chris GayleKKR vs RCB 102* (55)Kolkata

best century in IPL 2012

Chris Gayle DD vs RCB 128* (62) Delhi
Kevin Pietersen DC vs DC103* (64) Delhi
Rohit SharmaKKR vs MI109* (60) Kolkata

IPL season 2013

Shane WatsonCSK vs RR101 (58)Chennai
Chris GayleRCB vs PWI175* (66) Bangalore
Suresh Raina CSK vs PBKS100* (53) Chennai

IPL season 2014

Lendl SimmonsPBKS vs MI100* (61)Mumbai 
Virender SehwagPBKS vs CSK122 (58)Mumbai

IPL season 2015

Brendon McCullumCSK vs SRH100* (56)Chennai 
Chris Gayle RCB vs PBKS117 (57)Bangalore
AV de VilliersMI vs RCB133* (59)Mumbai

IPL season 2016

Quinton de Kock RCB vs DC108 (51)Bangalore
AB de Villiers RCB vs GL 129* (52)Bangalore
Virat Kohli GL vs RCB100* (63)Rajkot

IPL season 2017

Sanju SamsonRPS vs DC 102 ( 63)Pune
Hashim AmlaPBKS vs MI 104* (60)Indore
David Warner SRH vs KKR 126 (59) Hyderabad

IPL season 2018

Chris GaylePBKS vs SRH104* (63)Mohali 
Shane WatsonCSK vs RR106 (57)Pune 
Rishabh PantDC vs SRH 128* (63)Delhi

IPL season 2019

KL RahulMI vs PBKS 100* (64)Mumbai
Jonny BairstowSRH vs PBKS114 (56)Hyderabad
David WarnerSRH vs PBKS100* (55)Hyderabad

IPL season 2020

KL RahulPBKS vs RCB132* (69) Dubai
Mayank Agarwal PBKS vs RR106 (50)Sharjah 
Shikhar Dhawan CSK vs DC101* (58)Sharjah

IPL season 2021

Sanju Samson PBKS vs RR119 (63)Mumbai
Jos Buttler RR vs SRH 124 (64) Delhi
Devdutt PadikkalRCB vs RR101* (52) Mumbai

IPL season 2022

KL RahulLSG vs MI 103* (60)Mumbai
Jos ButtlerRR vs KKR 103 (61)Mumbai
Quinton de KockLSG vs KKR 140* (70) Navi Mumbai

IPL season 2023

Harry BrookSRH vs KKR 100* (55)Kolkata
Shubman Gill GT vs MI129 (60) Ahmedabad
Yashasvi JaiswalMI vs RR124 (62)Mumbai

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *