RCB WON WPL 2024 – Records & Rewards

RCB WON WPL 2024 - Records & Rewards

The women’s premier league (WPL) had a memorable end on the 17th of March 2024 (Sunday). As RCB won their first trophy defeating Delhi Capitals team by 8 wickets in the tournament which is also the first title since it was established in 2008. The tournament was held at Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi, so let’s have a look below to know more about the match and how RCB won WPL.


The women’s premier league is also known as the TATA WPL. WPL is a women’s T20 cricket league in India, owned and run by the (BCCI). The inaugural match was held in both Mumbai and Navi Mumbai, with five franchises participating.

The second season, held in February and March 2024, resulted in Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) winning the. The first Women’s T20 Challenge was started as a single-match tournament in 2018. In February 2022, then BCCI president Sourav Ganguly announced plans to establish a women’s premier league.


This started as a single-match tournament in 2018 and was expanded to a three-team, which was held in 2019 to 2022. In October 2022 the BCCI announced the five-team for tournament. These are Delhi Capitals (DI), Gujarat Giants (GG), Mumbai Indians (MI), Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), and UP Warriorz (UW)

what is the Format of WPL?

The tournament went on for 23 days with some spectacular performances from across all five teams. The two finalist teams especially gave a magical performance throughout the match. Delhi Capitals pacer Marizanne Kappe leads the highest wicket-taker chart ahead of the DC vs RCB final.

RCB Won WPL Final Match Recap

WPL Final DC vs RCB

The match started with a toss where Delhi Capitals won the toss and opted to bat first. Match started with openers Meg Lanning and Shafali, but Shefali departed for 44 off 27 balls, falling to Sophie Molineux. The RCB spinner came back with removing Jemimah (0) and Alice Capsey (0) in the same over.

Meanwhile Lanning eventually fell to Shreyanka Patil in the 11th over, departing for 23 off 23 balls. RCB faced pressure from DC’s bowlers and Sobhana Asha struck twice to remove Marizanne  Kapp (8) and Jess Jonassen (3). Patil  got two more wickets in the 19th over, removing Arundhati Reddy (10) and Taniya Bhatia (0) 

The match ended with Delhi Capitals restricted to 113 in 18.3 overs and RCB reached 115/2 in 19.2 overs, resulting in RCB winning the tournament by 8 wickets. Richa Ghost (17) hit the match-winning four, wrapping up proceedings with Ellyse Perry (35).  


  • RCB lifts the trophy, Mandhana gets RCB’s winning cheque and is applauded by her teammates
  • Shefali gets the award for most sixes
  • Molineux is awarded as Player of the Match
  • Shreyanka Patil receives the Emerging Player of the Year award and gets the purple cap
  • The Fairplay award also goes to RCB!
  • Ellyse Perry receives the Orange cap


Orange Cap Holder - Ellyse Perry

Alongside winning the WPL 2024 title, Royal Challengers Bangalore Squad (RCB) earned individual accolades. Off-spinner Shreyanka was awarded the purple cap for taking the most wickets. Ellyse Perry was awarded the orange cap for scoring the highest number of runs in the tournament. Exceptionally, RCB is first example in history of IPL and WPL where a team won Women’s Premier League 2024. The RCB players were awarded both the orange and purple caps.

Women’s Premier League 2024 point table

Delhi Capitals Women(Q)8620120.198
Mumbai Indians Women(Q)8530100.024
Royal Challengers Bangalore Women (Q)844080.306
UP Warrior(E)83506-0.371
Gujarat Giants(E)82604-1.158

Top Batters With Highest Runs in WPL 2024

Ellyse Perry (RCB-W)92766669.4125.722417
MEG Lanning (DC-W)92696038.78123.054474
Shafali Verma (DC-W)91977138.63156.8532720
S Mandhana (RCB-W)102248030133.9324010
DB Sharma (UPW-W)82168898.33136.573348
BL Mooney (GG-W)82028547.5141.093385
H Kaur (MI-W)71909553.6141.052308
RM Ghosh (RCB-W)101816242.83141.9923110
JI Rodrigues (DC-W)91536939.17153.592268
A Capsey (DC-W)91837528.75125.681296

Top 5 Highest Wickets Taker in WPL 2024

Shreyanka Patil (BAN-W)15713821.34/1212912.087.3
Asha Shobana (BAN-W)1851210265/2215615.427.12
Sophie Molineux (BAN-W)2781210383/2022823.177.32
Marizanne Kapp (DEL-W)176117283/5168166.29
Sophie Ecclestone (UP-W)20711831.33/2018918.826.57


2023 Mumbai IndiansHarmanpreet KaurDelhi Capitals
2024 Royal challengers BangaloreSmriti MandhanaDelhi Capitals
Who is the Orange Cap Holder with the Highest runs in 2024 WPL?

Ellyse Perry won the Orange Cap by scoring the most runs in the WPL 2024. Ellyse Perry made 341 in 9 matches of WPL with an average of 69.4 and became an Orange Cap holder with her impressive performance.

Who is the Best Spinner in WPL?

Purple Cap holder and RCB player Shreyanka Patil is the best Spinner in WPL. She took 13 wickets for RCB in 8 matches with an economy of 7.3.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *