Fastest Hundreds in IPL History – Chris Gayle

fastest hundred in IPL history

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a stage for some of the most electrifying cricketing feats, with the fastest hundred standing out as moments of sheer brilliance. This post explores these monumental innings that have left an indelible mark on IPL history.

A Glimpse at the Fastest Centuries in IPL

Scoring a century in T20 cricket is a remarkable achievement, but doing so at a breakneck speed is what sets apart the greats. Here’s a look at the players who have achieved this feat in the IPL:

Top 5 Fastest Hundreds in IPL

Here’s a table showcasing the top 5 fastest centuries in IPL history:

PlayerRunsBalls FacedAgainstYearBalls for Century
Chris Gayle175*66PW201330
Yusuf Pathan10037MI200837
David Miller101*38RCB201338
Adam Gilchrist109*47MI200842
AB de Villiers129*52GL201643

Chris Gayle’s Unforgettable 175* in 2013

Chris Gayle‘s 175* against Pune Warriors in 2013 is an innings of legendary status. Achieving his century in just 30 balls, Gayle demonstrated an unmatched level of power-hitting. His innings included a barrage of boundaries and sixes, leaving the audience and the opposition in awe. This performance not only set the record for the fastest hundred in IPL but also underlined Gayle’s status as one of the most destructive batsmen in T20 cricket.

Yusuf Pathan’s Explosive Century in 2008

Yusuf Pathan’s 100 against Mumbai Indians in 2008 was a remarkable display of aggression and timing. Taking just 37 balls to reach his century, Pathan’s innings was a blend of brute force and smart cricket. His ability to change the game within a few overs made this innings a pivotal moment in IPL history, showcasing the potential of T20 cricket to produce high-octane entertainment. Also let’s have a look at fastest fifty in IPL.

David Miller’s Game-Changing 101* in 2013

David Miller’s 101* against Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2013 was a testament to his batting prowess. Known for his ability to clear the boundaries with ease, Miller took just 38 balls to complete his century. His innings was not just about power-hitting; it was also marked by excellent shot selection and the ability to keep the scoreboard ticking.

Adam Gilchrist’s Masterful 109* in 2008

Adam Gilchrist’s 109* against Mumbai Indians in 2008 was a classic display of his legendary batting skills. Taking 42 balls to reach his century, Gilchrist combined traditional cricket shots with aggressive hitting. His innings played a crucial role in shaping the early years of the IPL, showcasing the league’s ability to attract world-class talent.

AB de Villiers’ Breathtaking 129* in 2016

AB de Villiers’ 129* against Gujarat Lions in 2016 was a spectacle of innovative and explosive batting. Known for his ability to hit the ball in all directions, de Villiers reached his century in 43 balls. His innings were a mix of orthodox cricketing shots and unorthodox innovation, making it a memorable performance in IPL history.

Impact of Fastest Hundreds on IPL Dynamics

These record-breaking innings have not only entertained but also significantly influenced the outcomes of the matches. They exemplify the blend of skill, aggression, and strategic acumen that T20 cricket demands.


The fastest hundreds in IPL history are a testament to the extraordinary talent and the evolving nature of cricket, especially in the high-octane format of T20. These innings remain etched in the memories of cricket enthusiasts and continue to inspire aspiring cricketers across the globe.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *